Star Wars & Shakespeare

11.24.13

My curiosity for this book was piqued after seeing the trailer some months ago, so when I saw a copy yesterday, I thought I might as well add it to my Star Wars collection of sorts.

Besides, it’s Shakespeare. Sort of.

Granted, I much prefer prose to verse, and reading Shakespeare has always been a challenge for me. Even to this day. Save for a few sonnets, and Henry IV, Part I (which I read as a course requirement) and Romeo & Juliet (which I haven’t read, believe it or not, but really, who doesn’t know their story?), my exposure to the Bard’s body of work has been severely limited.

Thanks, in no small part, to a certain Mr. Tom Hiddleston, I tried watching The Hollow Crown – BBC’s TV film adaptation of the Henriad – last month. I will not claim to have understood each and every line perfectly, because I’m pretty sure that I didn’t. I suppose I did, however, come away with greater respect for the iambic pentameter than I had before. (And not to mention that the production revived my fascination for the Medieval Era.)

Reading this book will be a further exercise in both appreciating the language and reliving a well-loved story. Albeit in a slightly different way.

One thought on “Star Wars & Shakespeare

What do you think?

